Concealed Carry-CCW

DO NOT BRING FIREARMS INTO THE SHERIFF'S OFFICE

CCW Hours 2-27-21.png

CCW Licensing Hours

CCW Licensing Fees-NonRefundable

If your license is scheduled to expire between March 9, 2020 and June 30, 2021, the expiration date is extended by 90 days OR until June 30, 2021, whichever is later.

CCW Fees 3-3-21.png
  • Valid Ohio Driver’s License or State ID card

  • ORIGINAL AND COPY of Firearms Safety Certificate of Competency or Lawful Equivalent with proper documentation

  • Completed application form

  • Must be 21 years of age or older

  • Submit to fingerprint verification for a background check

  • Must attest to having read the Ohio Attorney General’s Concealed Carry Law book

CCW Initial Application

You will also need to submit a color photo taken within the past 30 days with your application. If you do not have the ability to bring a photo, our office will provide one for an additional fee. Please be ready to present your training certificate and photo identification.

  • Valid CCW license or expired CCW license

  • Valid Ohio Driver’s License or State ID Card

  • Newly completed application form –  can not be a photocopy of prior application and check for latest version

  • Ohio resident for at least 45 days AND a Athens County resident or an adjacent county for 30 days

  • Must be 21 years of age or older

  • Submit to fingerprint verification for a background check

  • Must attest to having re-read the Ohio Attorney General’s Concealed Carry Law book

CCW Renewal Application

You will also need to submit a color photo taken within the past 30 days with your application. If you do not have the ability to bring a photo, our office will provide one for an additional fee. 

CCW Instructors

We request the following information be on the training certificates you provide to students:

  • Name, Phone number and location of Training Company

  • Name of Instructor with NRA or OPOTA number

  • Name of Student

  • Date of Course Completion

  • A statement that the course meets or exceeds statutory requirements in ORC 2923.125

  • 6 hours of academic classroom training and 2 hours of live firing range time training

For assistance, call the CCW Division

Monday through Friday 8:00 A.M. – 4:00 P.M. at 740-566-4302